

82133 Council Line, R.R. #5 Goderich, Ontario N7A 3Y2

PHONE: 519-524-4669 FAX: 519-524-1951

E-MAIL: clerk@acwtownship.ca

November 19, 2024

via email: premier@ontario.ca

The Honourable Doug Ford Premier of Ontario 823 Albion Road Etobicoke, ON M9V 1A3

Dear Honourable Doug Ford:

At its meeting held on November 19, 2024, the Council of the Township of Ashfield-Colborne-Wawanosh adopted the following resolution with respect to Good Roads – Ontario Rural Road Safety Program:

Moved by Jennifer Miltenburg Seconded by Wayne Forester

BE IT RESOLVED THAT Council receive the correspondence from the Good Roads Association regarding the establishment of an Ontario Rural Road Safety Program, for information;

AND THAT Council endorse and support the motion as circulated by the Good Roads Association, being:

WHEREAS official statistics from the Government of Ontario confirm that rural roads are inherently more dangerous than other roads;

AND WHEREAS despite only having 17% of the population, 55% of the road fatalities occur on rural roads:

AND WHEREAS rural, northern, and remote municipalities are fiscally strained by maintaining extensive road networks on a smaller tax base;

AND WHEREAS preventing crashes reduces the burden on Ontario's already strained rural strained health care system; AND WHEREAS roadway collisions and associated lawsuits are significant factors in runaway municipal insurance premiums. Preventing crashes can have a significant impact in improving municipal risk profiles;

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED THAT the Township of Ashfield-Colborne-Wawanosh requests that the Government of Ontario take action to implement the rural road safety program that Good Roads has committed to lead. It will allow Ontario's rural municipalities to make the critical investments needed to reduce the high number of people being killed and seriously injured on Ontario's rural roads;

AND FURTHER THAT a copy of this resolution be forwarded to Premier Doug Ford, Hon. Prabmeet Sarkaria, Minister of Transportation, Hon. King Surma, Minister of Infrastructure, Hon. Rob Flack, Minister of Agriculture, Hon. Lisa Thompson, Minister of Rural Affairs, Hon. Trevor Jones, Associate Minister of Emergency Preparedness and Response, and Hon. Sylvia Jones, Minister of Health, and Good Roads;

AND FURTHER THAT this resolution be circulated to all municipalities in Ontario requesting their support.

Your favourable consideration of this respectfully requested.

Sincerely,

Kelly Thomson

Kelly Tromon

Ontario Municipalities

Deputy Clerk I Communications Co-ordinator

CC:

Minister of Transportation – Anita Anand anita.anand@parl.gc.ca
Minister of Infrastructure – Kinga Surma kinga.surma@pc.ola.org
Minister of Agriculture, Food and Agribusiness – Rob Flack rob.flack@pc.ola.org
Minister of Rural Affairs – Lisa M. Thompson lisa.thompsonco@pc.ola.org
Associate Minister of Emergency Preparedness and Response – Trevor Jones
trevor.jones3@ontario.ca
Minister of Health – Sylvia Jones sylvia.jones@pc.ola.org
MPP Lise Vaugeois lvaugeois-qp@ndp.on.ca
Good Roads, Scott R. Butler, scott@goodroads.ca