

Sent Via Email to: <u>Justin.Trudeau@parl.gc.ca</u>

December 19, 2024

Prime Minister Justin Trudeau Office of the Prime Minister 80 Wellington Street Ottawa, ON K1A 0A2

RE: Request the Redistribution of the Provincial Land Transfer Tax and GST to Municipalities for Sustainable Infrastructure Funding

Please be advised that the Council of the Corporation of the Township of Scugog at its regular meeting on December 16, 2024, passed the following motion supporting the resolution from the Town of Aurora regarding the Request the Redistribution of the Provincial Land Transfer Tax and GST to Municipalities for Sustainable Infrastructure Funding:

Moved by Regional Councillor McDougall

Seconded by Councillor Rock

That Correspondence received from the Town of Aurora regarding Request the Redistribution of the Provincial Land Transfer Tax and GST to Municipalities for Sustainable Infrastructure Funding - November 5, 2024, be endorsed.

Carried

Attached please find a copy of the Town of Aurora correspondence dated November 5, 2024.

If you require anything further, please contact the undersigned.



Yours Sincerely,

Blair Labelle Director of Corporate Services / Clerk /am

Enclosure

CC Doug Ford, Premier of Ontario Peter Bethlenfalvy Ontario Minister of Finance Paul Calandra, Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing Todd McCarthy, MPP Durham Jamil Jivani MP Durham All Ontario Municipalities Federation of Canadian Municipalities Association of Municipalities of Ontario Enclosure

From:



100 John West Way Aurora, Ontario L4G 6J1 (905) 727-3123 aurora.ca

Town of Aurora
Member Motion

Mayor's Office

Re: Request the Redistribution of the Provincial Land Transfer Tax and GST to Municipalities for Sustainable Infrastructure Funding

To: Members of Council

Mayor Tom Mrakas

Date: November 5, 2024

Whereas municipalities face growing infrastructure needs, including roads, bridges, public transit, water systems, and other critical services, which are essential to community well-being and economic development; and

Whereas the current sources of municipal revenue, including property taxes and user fees, are insufficient to meet these increasing demands for infrastructure investment; and

Whereas the Province of Ontario currently collects the Land Transfer Tax (LTT) on property transactions in municipalities across the province, generating significant revenue that is not directly shared with municipalities; and

Whereas the Federal Government collects the Goods and Services Tax (GST) on property transactions, a portion of which could be directed to municipalities to address local infrastructure needs; and

Whereas redistributing a portion of the Provincial Land Transfer Tax and GST to municipalities would provide a predictable and sustainable source of funding for local infrastructure projects without creating a new tax burden on residents or homebuyers; and

Whereas a redistribution of a portion of the existing Land Transfer Tax and GST would allow municipalities to better plan and invest in long-term infrastructure initiatives, supporting local economic growth and improving the quality of life for residents;

1. Now Therefore Be It Hereby Resolved That Aurora Town Council formally requests the Provincial Government to consider redistributing a portion of the Land Transfer Tax collected on property transactions to municipalities; and

- 2. Be It Further Resolved That Aurora Town Council calls on the Federal Government to allocate a percentage of the GST collected on property sales to municipalities; and
- 3. Be It Further Resolved That this redistribution of the Land Transfer Tax and GST should be structured to provide predictable and sustainable funding to municipalities, allowing for better long-term planning and investment in infrastructure projects that benefit local communities, thus ensuring that local governments receive a fair share of the revenue to address critical infrastructure needs; and
- 4. Be It Further Resolved That copies of this resolution be forwarded to Prime Minister Justin Trudeau, Premier Doug Ford, the Ontario Minister of Finance, the Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing, local Members of Parliament (MPs) and Members of Provincial Parliament (MPPs); and
- 5. Be It Further Resolved That copies of this resolution be forwarded to all 444 Municipalities in Ontario, the Federation of Canadian Municipalities (FCM), and the Association of Municipalities of Ontario (AMO) for their endorsement and advocacy.