

November 25, 2024

The Honorable Doug Ford
Premier of Ontario
Legislative Building, Queen's Park
Toronto, ON M7A 1A1

Sent by Email

Dear: Honorable Doug Ford

RE: Establishment of an Ontario Rural Road Safety Program.

The Council of the Corporation of Tay Valley Township at its meeting on November 19th, 2024, adopted the following resolution:

RESOLUTION #C-2024-11-22

MOVED BY: Fred Dobbie SECONDED BY: Marilyn Thomas

"WHEREAS, official statistics from the Government of Ontario confirm that rural roads are inherently more dangerous than other roads;

AND WHEREAS, despite only having 17% of the population, 55% of the road fatalities occur on rural roads;

AND WHEREAS, rural, northern, and remote municipalities are fiscally strained by maintaining extensive road networks on a smaller tax base;

AND WHEREAS, preventing crashes reduces the burden on Ontario's already strained rural health care system;

AND WHEREAS, roadway collisions and associated lawsuits are significant factors in runaway municipal insurance premiums

AND WHEREAS, preventing crashes can have a significant impact in improving municipal risk profiles;



NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED THAT, Tay Valley Township requests that the Government of Ontario take action to implement the rural road safety program that Good Roads has committed to lead, which will allow Ontario's rural municipalities to make the critical investments needed to reduce the high number of people being killed and seriously injured on Ontario's rural roads;

THAT, a copy of this resolution be forwarded to Premier Doug Ford, Honorable Prabmeet Sarkaria, Minister of Transportation, Honorable King Surma, Minister of Infrastructure, Honorable Rob Flack, Minister of Agriculture, Honorable Lisa Thompson, Minister of Rural Affairs, Honorable Trevor Jones, Associate Minister of Emergency Preparedness and Response, and Honorable Sylvia Jones, Minister of Health, and Good Roads;

AND THAT, this resolution be circulated to all municipalities in Ontario requesting their support."

ADOPTED

If you require any further information, please do not hesitate to contact the undersigned at (613) 267-5353 ext. 130 or deputyclerk@tayvalleytwp.ca

Sincerely,

Aaron Watt, Deputy Clerk

Aaun Watt

cc: Honorable Prabmeet Sarkaria, Minister of Transportation,

Honorable King Surma, Minister of Infrastructure,

Honorable Rob Flack, Minister of Agriculture,

Honorable Lisa Thompson, Minister of Rural Affairs,

Honorable Trevor Jones, Associate Minister of Emergency Preparedness and Response,

Honorable Sylvia Jones, Minister of Health,

Thomas Barakat, Good Roads Manager of Public Policy & Government Relations, All Municipalities in Ontario.