

## CORPORATION OF THE MUNICIPALITY OF SOUTH HURON

322 Main Street South P.O. Box 759 Exeter Ontario

N0M 1S6

Phone: 519-235-0310 Fax: 519-235-3304 Toll Free: 1-877-204-0747

www.southhuron.ca

December 11, 2024

Via email: justin.trudeau@parl.gc.ca

Office of the Prime Minister 80 Wellington Street Ottawa, ON K1A 0A2

Dear Prime Minister Trudeau

## Re: Redistribution of Land Transfer Tax and GST

Please be advised that South Huron Council passed the following resolution at their December 9, 2024, Regular Council Meeting:

518-2024

Moved By: Marissa Vaughan Seconded by: Aaron Neeb

Result: Carried

Whereas municipalities face growing infrastructure needs, including roads, bridges, public transit, water systems, and other critical services, which are essential to community well-being and economic development; and

Whereas the current sources of municipal revenue, including property taxes and user fees, are insufficient to meet these increasing demands for infrastructure investment; and

Whereas the Province of Ontario currently collects the Land Transfer Tax (LTT) on property transactions in municipalities across the province, generating significant revenue that is not directly shared with municipalities; and

Whereas the Federal Government collects the Goods and Services Tax (GST) on property transactions, a portion of which could be directed to municipalities to address local infrastructure needs; and

Whereas redistributing a portion of the Provincial Land Transfer Tax and GST to municipalities would provide a predictable and sustainable source of funding for local infrastructure projects without creating a new tax

burden on residents or homebuyers; and

Whereas a redistribution of a portion of the existing Land Transfer Tax and GST would allow municipalities to better plan and invest in long-term infrastructure initiatives, supporting local economic growth and improving the quality of life for residents;

Now therefore be it hereby resolved that the Municipality of South Huron Council formally requests the Provincial Government to consider redistributing a portion of the Land Transfer Tax collected on property transactions to municipalities; and

Be it further resolved that the Municipality of South Huron Council calls on the Federal Government to allocate a percentage of the GST collected on property sales to municipalities; and

Be it further resolved that this redistribution of the Land Transfer Tax and GST should be structured to provide predictable and sustainable funding to municipalities, allowing for better long-term planning and investment in infrastructure projects that benefit local communities, thus ensuring that local governments receive a fair share of the revenue to address critical infrastructure needs; and

Be it further resolved that copies of this resolution be forwarded to Prime Minister Justin Trudeau, Premier Doug Ford, the Ontario Minister of Finance, the Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing, local Members of Parliament (MPs) and Members of Provincial Parliament (MPPs); and

Be it further resolved that copies of this resolution be forwarded to all 444 Municipalities in Ontario, the Federation of Canadian Municipalities (FCM), and the Association of Municipalities of Ontario (AMO) for their endorsement and advocacy

Respectfully,

Kendra Webster, Legislative & Licensing Co-ordinator Municipality of South Huron <a href="mailto:kwebster@southhuron.ca">kwebster@southhuron.ca</a> 519-235-0310 x. 232

Encl.

cc: Premier of Ontario, Hon. Doug Ford, <a href="mailto:doug.fordco@pc.ola.org">doug.fordco@pc.ola.org</a>

Ontario Minister of Finance, Hon.Peter Bethlenfalvy,

Peter.Bethlenfalvy@pc.ola.org



## **CORPORATION OF THE MUNICIPALITY OF SOUTH HURON**

322 Main Street South P.O. Box 759 Exeter Ontario

NOM 1S6

Phone: 519-235-0310 Fax: 519-235-3304 Toll Free: 1-877-204-0747

www.southhuron.ca

Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing, Hon. Paul Calandra, Paul.Calandra@pc.ola.org

MP Huron-Bruce, Hon. Ben Lobb, ben.lobb@parl.gc.ca

MPP Huron-Bruce, Hon. Lisa Thompson, Lisa.Thompsonco@pc.ola.org

FCM, resolutions@fcm.ca

AMO, resolutions@amo.on.ca

444 Ontario Municipalities.